New Jersey

Attorneys who defend troll victims

Relevant posts

wordpress counter

Discussion

169 responses to ‘New Jersey

1. @CM Doe

It is my understanding that doe numbers are determined by your IPs placement on the list the plaintiff initially submitted as evidence. If your IP was 53rd on the list, you are Doe #53.

I’m not a lawyer so I don’t totally understand, but the document you linked sounds like it’s saying that this conference is where your information will be handed over to the plaintiff. That would be one explanation for the delay you asked about.

• Thanks for the reply Anonymous… your explanation makes sense. I’m not fluent in lawyer-speak, so I thought the order was requiring the Does to be represented in the November hearing.

My ISP letter only contained the single page of the IP listings for which I appear, so I wouldn’t be able to calculate my number. I thought I saw a full digit copy floating out there, so I could calculate my number from there.

Is this type of hearing common procedure? I just assumed that on Oct 1st COMCAST would simply hand over the contact information to the law firm. If this is not common procedure, I wonder if this judge is onto these bit-torrent cases and is making the trolls jump through some more hoops.

Thanks again for your response!!

2. “I thought the order was requiring the Does to be represented in the November hearing.”

All representatives need to be present, except Pro Se litigants (people defending themselves). So essentially all lawyers need to be there. It doesn’t mean you need to have a lawyer or be present yourself.

“My ISP letter only contained the single page of the IP listings […] I thought I saw a full digit copy floating out there”